An Artist's Quest

Fifty – Fourtunate

Hand-THORPE-ART-MixedMediaArtJournaling

A page from my mixed media Art Journal – pondering the meaning of life and other heady things!

It was my birthday on Sunday and, no surprise, I have been thinking a lot about the passing of time and this metaphor has been rolling around my head for the past five days, so I thought I should share it with you.

On the day I was born the archer pulled the string back on the bow and the arrow that is ME shot forth into the world. The arch of the arrow is unknown, the distance too and wherever that arrow lands, well that is it’s true mark – and not for me to know. I sooth myself by thinking I have control over those two factors – arch and distance – and perhaps I do to a little bit. My efforts can take me higher and perchance farther but there is capriciousness too, that is out of my control. And as I think about it, it is just that fickleness that is the true gift of life. In not knowing the arch and distance of my arrow, in understanding that I can not control all factors I can give over to the goodness and wonder before me – right here, right now. It is all there ever was, is, or will be. I give thanks to the archer for sending my on my path, I give thanks for the past 54 years and I give thanks for today – that will have to do.

If the only prayer you ever say in your entire life is thank you, it will be enough. – Meister Eckhart

5 responses

  1. Happy (belated) Birthday!

    August 26, 2016 at 5:22 pm

  2. Anne R. Blanton

    Happy Happy Birthday Dear Lisa. The world is a better place with you living upon it! love, anne

    August 26, 2016 at 5:30 pm

  3. Pamela

    Happy Birthday dear friend. Our fifties are wonderful, bewildering, trying, and filled with knowledge. I look at your art on the walls of what I call home and realize this is what life is really about. I am happy to know you.
    Again, Happy, happy birthday!
    Pamela

    August 27, 2016 at 8:17 am

  4. Bonnie

    The archer and the bow metaphors! . How I love your gifts and celebrate your life’s “arc” as it travels through this space we inherit. Keep us posted with all your colorful contributions. (I thought of you as I traveled through Healdsburg yesterday on my way home through the redwaood grandeur from visits with family in the Northwest.)

    Wishing you many more birthdays!
    Bonnie

    August 28, 2016 at 3:40 pm

  5. karin

    As always, I LOVE your thoughts and words. Thank you for reminding me to be in the NOW.
    Happy Birthday. I’m glad your arrow has been traveling a nearby path for these years. You are a gift.

    August 29, 2016 at 2:27 pm

Leave a Reply

