An Artist's Quest

Public Proclamations

250.idaho

A page from my watercolor sketchbook documenting down time on my Idaho adventure.  On the left is after swimming in Lake Payette on the right is a long wait in the Seattle airport.

Not long ago I was honored to attend the wedding of a young friend. In truth I don’t know Meg very well and I met her husband Levi at the wedding. So why was I there you ask… well I was there because Meg is the daughter of my dear friend from college days, Molly. There are 5 of us who enter  UCDavis in 1980 and have pledged to stay connected over these 30 plus years, such friendship is a wonder and a blessing. Meg’s is the first wedding of the next generation of this group of friends.  So there I was with my husband and my long time friends and their husbands to witness Meg and Levi’s commitment to each other. Now this lovely young couple has been together for nine years already if you can believe it, college sweethearts whose love has endured. So on this weekend in July, outside the beautiful town of McCall Idaho, next to a rustic barn, chairs were set in rows – a bride walked down the isle with her beaming parents towards the love of her life, both standing in the bright sun with enormous Idaho clouds collecting as a backdrop, there under the broad Idaho sky they publicly proclaimed their love and devotion to each other. Their vows were honest and touching and bold. After 9 years of being together they realized the power of publicly proclaiming that bold, honest love. When we make a public proclamation then we are including the witnesses, and indeed the world, in that declaration. We are both sharing our bold claim and asking for support when we hesitate. Thank you Meg and Levi for the reminder of the power of proclamation, may your love be strong and true!

Now, in my tiny way, I make a proclamation to you dear readers – This week I begin a renewed commitment to this blog and you, to write regularly and thoughtfully what is in my heart, and mind and the art that goes with that musing. Thanks for joining me in the adventure.

5 responses

  1. Molly Pannkuk

    What a wonderful description of this amazing event. It was such a celebration of togetherness… bringing together the circles of love that find their center in Meg and Levi. Friends and families came from far and wide to make new connections and revive old ones and witness Meg and Levi as they confirmed their love. We are so lucky you and the others in the Fab Five (and the “college-in-laws”) were all able to come. Thank you, thank you! I’m still in the afterglow of it all.

    August 13, 2016 at 3:58 pm

    • It was wonderful to be with you and yours! much Love from down here- you must promise to connect if you come down to visit Meg and Levi in Davis!

      August 13, 2016 at 4:48 pm

  2. Ted

    We often say to each other how lucky we are to know you and share in your creative life. It’s a blessing.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    August 14, 2016 at 11:19 am

  3. So happy to be welcomed into the extended clan Carl!

    August 14, 2016 at 12:12 pm

  4. Big sister always

    So glad to see your blog in my inbox — and happy to read your thoughts on Meg & Levi’s wedding and your thoughts on longtime friendship and public proclamations. I will proclaim here that I love seeing your work and reading about your creative process!
    xo Laura

    August 14, 2016 at 5:38 pm

Leave a Reply

