An Artist's Quest

OM….

247.Buddha1

I painted this painting on Mother’s Day – time in my studio was my gift! This 24×24″ painting and a 24×48″ painting from this series both sold this week along with two art quilts!

I haven’t written in awhile… sorry….when I got fired from my teaching job in late March I imagined so much time and space to make art and blog with you and meditate and ponder the meaning of life.  But as Aristotle said, horror vacui, or nature abhors a vacuum, and while I was worrying about how to make money when my job ended I caste a fist full of seeds into the universe.  Well I guess a lot of those seeds found fertile ground and now I need to consider thinning my crop down to the things I most want to do. I saw a Venn-diagram recently with 3 overlapping circles; one reads what you are passionate about the next reads what you are good at and the third reads what people will pay you for…..and where they all cross over is the sweet spot – where talent, passion and marketability meet.  Simple enough in theory but harder to find on a day to day basis.  When I finished teaching April 1st I felt like this was an opportunity- I was just given some space to find the sweet spot- but in my fear of no income I have been filling up my every minute taking on every job that comes my way.  I have taken on more graphic design work, more work at The Bishop’s Ranch, more workshop teaching, more sewing jobs…. you get the idea. In some ways it feels good, I know I can make the money when I need to, but now I need to pull back and do that thinning of my possibilities garden I was talking about before and find the sweet spot in my personal Venn-diagram.  This week I got a little clue about which way to wander.  On Sunday I taught an Encaustic Collage Workshop for 12 wonderful women- they had a good day I had a good day and I felt financially well compensated.  Also this week, kind of by accident, I sold 4 pieces of art- big pieces- and when told the prospective buyers the price no one flinched.  So I think I’m beginning to zero in on my talent, my passion, and what people will pay for. So here’s to searching for the sweet spot and listening to what the universe is telling you!

247Bird1

I painted this smaller 8×10″ piece at the same time as the Buddha above

 

   

6 responses

  1. Wow! Congrats on the sales Lisa! You go girl!!

    May 19, 2016 at 5:30 pm

  2. Hey Lisa – I was one of those 12 wonderful women at your workshop last Sunday. It was a lovely day – it was an excellent workshop. Mona Lea Blue Oak School Napa, CA

    On Thu, May 19, 2016 at 5:21 PM, Lisa Thorpes Mandala Challenge wrote:

    > lisathorpeartist posted: ” I haven’t written in awhile… sorry….when I > got fired from my teaching job in late March I imagined so much time and > space to make art and blog with you and meditate and ponder the meaning of > life. But as Aristotle said, horror vacui, or nature abho” >

    May 20, 2016 at 6:51 am

    • Thanks Mona – it was great to spend a creative day with you and see where it took you and the other 11 women!

      May 20, 2016 at 8:27 am

  3. Valerie Hill

    I know you will flourish in doing what you love.

    May 20, 2016 at 7:30 am

  4. Mary

    Love the images and insights! 💖

    May 21, 2016 at 11:07 am

Leave a Reply

