An Artist's Quest

Teaching & Learning

FEATHER- Encaustic Collage- paper, spray paint, silk organza, and encaustic medium

FEATHER- Encaustic Collage- paper, spray paint, silk organza, and encaustic medium

I taught and encaustic collage workshop this weekend and because it was a small group I was able to set up a work station and do some creating also!  And because it was a small group I decided to share with them an encaustic technique that I’ve been exploring that combines paper collage and the encaustic wax with the spray paint techniques I’ve been using with fabric. It was a lot of techniques for them to wade through but they had the time and space of the whole weekend and the lovely, supportive hospitality of the Ranch to allow them to create and explore.  One of my students has worked extensively with encaustic but not so much with collage and she shared some techniques and tools she has picked up along the way, including using silk in her pieces.  I was inspired by what she had done and got out some silk organza I had stenciled a few weeks ago. It acts a bit like tissue paper would be gives a different texture that is lovely.

SEEK- Encaustic Collage- paper, spray paint, silk organza, and encaustic medium

SEEK- Encaustic Collage- paper, spray paint, silk organza, and encaustic medium

Combining the collage techniques with the stencils spray paint on the encaustic creates an amazing effect. Each thin application of wax is a distinct layer.  In these examples I have both spray painted and glued papers to the base wood, then applied a layer of encaustic wax – stenciled pattern with spray paint on that then add tissue paper or silk organza that had stenciled patterns and images.  All these thin layers of pattern and color creates a piece full of depth and intrigue.

I hope to play around with all these mediums more this summer, combining and sharing what I know and gathering new ideas from others willing to share.

MEANING- Encaustic Collage- paper, spray paint, silk organza, and encaustic medium

MEANING- Encaustic Collage- paper, spray paint, silk organza, and encaustic medium

I will share more from the workshop later in the week – I have put these little beauties up for sale on my Etsy shop for under $50- hope you’ll check them out! NEW WORK

3 responses

  1. carol Jones

    Lisa – this looks great! Would you mind sharing with me what kind of spray paint you used that works with the encaustic medium. I love reading your blogs. Thx – Carol

    June 22, 2015 at 4:39 pm

    • I’m using Tint-It sprays that are transparent and Design Master sprays that are opaque and have a flat finish.

      June 23, 2015 at 9:15 am

  2. sally nole

    Beautiful

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    June 22, 2015 at 5:43 pm

Leave a Reply

