An Artist's Quest

A Stitch’n Week

Quilter, friend and blog follower doing some hand work - A long shot of the Pavilion with machines and fabric everywhere!

Quilter, friend and blog follower doing some hand work – A long shot of the Pavilion with machines and fabric everywhere!

I spent the last 5 days stitching till I dropped. The Bishop’s Ranch hosted it’s 4th annual Quilt Retreat and the place was packed with sewing machines, fabric, thread, creativity and inspiration. The retreat is designed so folks come and work on any project they want there aren’t any instructors or product pitches each person does their own thing if you want input there are lots of skilled women to give their two cents worth but if you just want to stitch and do your thing no one tells you you’re doing it wrong. For the 3rd year in a row my mom came to sew, she worked on a quilt top of beautiful batiks I of course brought a huge stack of things to work on. Those of you who have followed my blog for a while may have seen some of these images. In the last year I have had the chance to fly an number of times and started taking photos out the window at take off then I spend the flight drawing the aerial view using the Brushes app on my iPad. These I had printed on lovely cotton Sateen at Spoonflower.com, then I stitched and stitched and stitched……they are about 30×40 inches and I think they look great. I need to block them, all that stitching made them a little warped an wonkie (if any one has some tips on blocking please, please share!) When I have them flattened out I’ll trim and bind and make them ready to hang. I have about 4 more aerial images I plan to have printed up large….maybe even bigger I’d love to show them somewhere so if any of you have ideas on that too let me know. I’ll post some pics when I have them all done. I’m so glad I gathered with all these wonderful women for the week and got a surge of stitch’n energy!

Aerial View of Alexander Valley - Close-up of stitching

Aerial View of Alexander Valley – Close-up of stitching

Aerial View of Willamette Valley - Close-up of stitching

Aerial View of Willamette Valley – Close-up of stitching

Aerial View of Salt Flats in SF Bay - Close-up of stitching

Aerial View of Salt Flats in SF Bay – Close-up of stitching

3 responses

  1. love these, Lisa! and to imagine how large they are! wow!

    February 12, 2015 at 4:08 pm

  2. Jan LaFollette

    I live in the Willamette Valley and that is just AWE-some! I cannot imagine how sore your fingers might be but that is such a great idea and they are beautiful.

    February 12, 2015 at 4:38 pm

  3. April

    These are stunning, Lisa!

    February 12, 2015 at 4:41 pm

Leave a Reply

