An Artist's Quest

Teaching Time

I love to teach and have been teaching in all kinds of settings for years. Yesterday was a whirlwind of creative teaching that I thought you’d love to hear about. I teach art 3 days a week at my local elementary school to preK-2nd grade. Yesterday I did monoprints with 2nd graders. All you have to do is look at the picture to see the joy, excitement and pride they had in their creations. They were amazed that I was letting them paint on the table then they simply drew with q-tips to make a design, lay down the paper, rub and voila it was like magic, such exuberance and surprise and awe all packed into a 50 minute class.

2nd graders thrilled with their monoprints

2nd graders thrilled with their monoprints

When the school bell rang at 2:30 I dashed back The Bishop’s Ranch retreat and conference center where I’m the Resident Artist. As part of my duties groups can request an art workshop during their stay, so yesterday afternoon I donned my art teacher apron again this time with a group of women who have been friends for over 50 years and met in Jr. High if you can believe it! They were so full of fun and ready to try something new. I lead them in a Georgia O’keefee style flower painting class inspired by the flowers found at the Ranch.

Women's group thrilled with their flower paintings

Women’s group thrilled with their flower paintings

Both these groups were thrilled to be creating and making art, I get a lot from helping people open up their creative side, young and old benefit from the experience. In October I get to dive deeper into the creative process at the CREATE SEATTLE conference. The great thing about teaching at a Create conference is everyone there is so open and excited about learning new techniques. The 6-hour classes give lots of time to explore and get immersed in something new and exciting. I can’t wait to mix it up with my students during the Light up Your Life Little Luminaria class on Friday 10/24, the possibilities with these materials is spectacular and everyone with leave with at least 4 luminaria and the skills to take home a whole new way to brighten up their world – especially relevant with the holidays coming!

Light up your life Luminaria class I'm teaching at CREATE Seattle

Light up your life Luminaria class I’m teaching at CREATE Seattle

I’m also happy to share an artist tool that is under used so far….the iPad. On Saturday 10/25 I’ll be introducing participants to their iPad as art tool. The 6 hour class will dive deep into the Brushes 3 app that has so much potential. Everyone will leave with a knowledge of all the potential of this app and I’ll walk you through creating a digital collage like this one! Ps this is the app David Hockney used for much of his work in his recent SF and NYC shows.

 

iPad as art tool the Brushes 3 app class I'm teaching at CREATE Seattle

iPad as art tool the Brushes 3 app class I’m teaching at CREATE Seattle

Waterless watercolor the ipad as art tool using the ArtRage app class I'm teaching at CREATE Seattle

Waterless watercolor the ipad as art tool using the ArtRage app class I’m teaching at CREATE Seattle

Saturday evening 10/25 I get to share another favorite art app called Art Rage. This 3 hour class focuses on the watercolor tools. I’ll lead you in creating a water color still life using only your iPad. I took an online watercolor class from one of my favorite teachers Jane LaFazio and instead of actual watercolors I used my iPad and the Art Rage app. I loved the results and I can’t wait to share what I’ve discoved with you.

 

I’m really looking forward to meeting you and having the time and space to create with you at CREATE SEATTLE coming up soon! Sign up for the Seattle classes here  http://seattle.createmixedmediaretreat.com/ehome/87874/artistinstructors/?&#T

http://lisathorpe.com/ see website for more classes

5 responses

  1. Lisa, I will be coming up to Bishop’s Ranch for the annual Doyen quilting retreat January 5-8. I was wondering about squeezing in an iPad workshop while we’re there. How many would you need for a class and what would be the cost/student?

    Jane Herlihy (510)821-3637

    September 26, 2014 at 12:05 pm

    • Jane I would love to teach an ipad class when you are here. For a 3-4 hour class (which is a good introduction time) I would require a minimum of 4 people. The cost of the class would be $45 each.

      September 26, 2014 at 2:37 pm

  2. Anne R. Blanton

    WOW-You’re amazing!!! love, anne

    September 26, 2014 at 3:51 pm

  3. APRIL FLOWERS

    Lisa, You make me want to be a kid again, paint on a table and learn something new. I really love your Mandala Challenge. Thanks, April

    September 26, 2014 at 3:57 pm

  4. Mary Anne

    I love what you accomplish as an artist! Wish I lived closer to where you do it – I’m in eastern NC. I am sure God smiles upon you as you generously share your gifts with so many other people.

    September 27, 2014 at 3:19 am

Leave a Reply

