An Artist's Quest

Into the Material World

Camera pillows with my favorite model... Lucky

Camera pillows with my favorite model… Lucky

I drew this camera series on my iPad. I have a collection of old cameras at my getaway house and I love nothing better when I’m there than to sit and look and draw and listen to music and chat. When I finished the art I wanted to get them out of the iPad and into the world somehow, so I created a border design and had these printed at spoonflower.com (here is a link to my fabric designs). I finally sewed these up into pillows with a little bit of free motion quilting to enhance the outline. I love how they turned out! I put these out last weekend in my Creekside living room. Once again I am surprised what a new set of pillows can do for a room quick and simple and cheap as decorating goes and VOILA, fun new space! Sometimes we stop looking at our own space things we wanted to fix or change become so familiar that we don’t even notice anymore, so it’s nice when something small like six couch pillows can make everything new again….have a little fun maybe change something around in your space refresh and renew, it feels good.

185d.camera3

185c.camera2

185b.camera

5 responses

  1. Valerie

    Very cool. I want to do something similar with my old rock band T-shirts.

    May 30, 2014 at 9:56 am

  2. Sandy

    Love the camera pillows, amazing! We had such a great weekend with your family. It was relaxing, fun and great to catch up.

    May 31, 2014 at 3:32 pm

  3. Pamela

    would you like to make a few more? I love them.
    Pamela

    June 3, 2014 at 1:48 pm

  4. Shelley Ritchie

    It’s so true about not seeing what’s been there for a long time. I love the pillow idea to nudge awareness!

    Shelley Ritchie

    June 17, 2014 at 1:06 pm

Leave a Reply

