An Artist's Quest

SING

SING  Experiments with alcohol inks on fabric stitche on denim and stenciled with acrylic paint

SING
Experiments with alcohol inks on fabric stitched on denim and stenciled with acrylic paint

I had a little time in my studio yesterday, which sadly I haven’t had a lot of time in the past couple of months. So yesterday when I found that I had finished my Christmas gift list, prepped food, and made soup, packaged spiced nuts, wrote notes, and generally got business done a little miracle happen for one small afternoon there was nothing on my list, every item that could be done had a red line through it (I love the red line).  With a wide open mind I walked over to my studio.  It is a rare thing for me to have no agenda, no class to prep or make samples for, no article I’m working on, no sale to make merch for just my tiny cluttered studio and 3 hours to play.  I had been thinking for awhile about experimenting with alcohol inks to marble fabric.  It seemed to me that the inks would float on the water then perhaps would work like other marbleizing mediums but dry faster less fuss.  It turns out the ink does float but when it hits the water it kind of seizes up I laid the fabric on and got some interesting marks and the colors are bright but nothing fabulous.  So now what?  I decided to cut them into strips and see if that got me inspired.  On the ironing board were pieces of denim from another fabric dyeing experiment that didn’t pan out so why not mash it up and see what happens?  So a few hours later I walked out of my studio with these 3 little ditties, charming I think.  And what a lovely time I had just to wander and wonder and create.  I hope you can find time to do the same in this busy season in whatever way gives your heart and mind a little space to sing.

SING 2 scraps of previously marbled fabric stitched on denim and stenciled with acrylic paint

SING 2
scraps of previously marbled fabric stitched on denim and stenciled with acrylic paint

PS. I am teaching a weekend Encaustic Collage Workshop here at the Bishop’s Ranch in early January that I would like to invite you to.  It is 2 night, meals, housing, workshop and all materials included.  Start your new year off with a little creative retreat here is the link to the workshop registration

SING 3 Experiments with alcohol inks on fabric stitched on denim and stenciled with acrylic paint

SING 3
Experiments with alcohol inks on fabric stitched on denim and stenciled with acrylic paint

Leave a Reply

