An Artist's Quest

CUCKOO • CUCKOO

My Grandma's Cuckoo Clock now in my living room.   Drawn on the iPad.

My Grandma’s Cuckoo Clock now in my living room.
Drawn on the iPad.

Hello all we are deep in the holiday flow now.  Thanksgiving was late and Hanukah was early, Solstice and Christmas are where they always are but seem to be speeding along faster than normal.  And like every year there are, holiday parties, staff gatherings, family celebrations, cookie exchanges, winter concerts, and tree decorating, and dance recitals. If you are like me this somehow takes me by surprise each year.  My extended family decided some years ago to simplify Christmas gift giving and I am once again grateful for that decision, but still leading into the holidays there is a constant ticking, a countdown that can lead to a crazy frenetic feeling. I want to share a story about the clock pictured above that perfectly illustrates my conflicting feelings of the season.  This cuckoo clock was originally owned by me grandma (she was dubbed cuckoo grandma by my son because of the clock but it stuck as a family sobriquet because she was a little cuckoo… anyhow) this grandma loved clocks of all kinds.  She had a booming grandfather clock that rang out the quarter – half and hour chimes, two grandmother clocks, one in each bedroom, that also chimed 4 times an hour, and several mantle clocks, one that indeed rested on the mantle but the rest adorned her piano and TV, and of course there was this cuckoo clock in the dining room clambering for attention on the hour and half hour.  For many years my grandma kept these clocks in precise time and so on every quarter hour you were graced with a quartette of chimes, then on the hour and half hour a full symphony of chimes and chirps.  But as my grandma got older and more deaf and less able to manage the clocks the inevitable happened – they got out of sync, and would, bong and chime and ding and chirp for most of the hour and then the whole thing would start up again.  And there was something so maddening and something so delightful about the whole experience that it brings to mind the holiday season.  So much going on so many people to see, to gift, to gather, to embrace and to toast – such a flurry – it’s like the clocks sounding in my grandma’s house both exasperating and exhilarating, infuriating and invigorating. I choose to embrace it all and delight in the overlapping tones, chimes and chirps, and if I call out the occasional CUCKOO • CUCKOO I’m sure you’ll understand and might just join me in the chorus.

7 responses

  1. Anne R. Blanton

    here’s another fun one. love love to you and dear Andrew.

    December 14, 2013 at 1:45 pm

  2. Pamela

    Lisa, What joy that brings to mind, while nerve racking at the same time. I miss those moments when they are no longer there.
    Thank you for the giggles.

    December 15, 2013 at 5:18 pm

  3. wendmoo

    Hey Lisa, We are a bunch of Cuckoo’s too. We have a watch,belonging to my husband that hangs in the kitchen. Its alarm is forever stuck at 8 mis past eleven. We dance and sing the can can when we are home to hear it. Not sure how it began..Cuckoo, Cuckoo!

    December 16, 2013 at 4:28 am

    • I love the idea you dancing around the kitchen at 11:08 in the morning I’m guessing, I have a wonderful picture in my mind, Random Acts of Joy!

      December 16, 2013 at 7:09 am

  4. Mary Anne

    May your Christmas be merry and bright, and may 2014 be filled with abundant blessings for you and your family.

    December 16, 2013 at 5:57 am

  5. Pingback: Sunday Jumble Spoiler – 01/26/14 | Unclerave's Wordy Weblog

Leave a Reply

