An Artist's Quest

Mandala Morning

Pomegranate picked from my tree this morning and cut through at the equator.

Pomegranate picked from my tree this morning and cut through at the equator.

Today I was given a little gift, a surprise, a wonder.  When I cut open this pomegranate today I was presented with a perfect mandala. What is funny about this gift is today for some reason, perhaps the early hour, or dim lighting, or the dream cobwebs still in my eyes, I cut this pomegranate open in a different way.   Usually I cut it open through the stem or tear it open at a crack but today I cut through the equator of the fruit, and look what I found! A star, a sun, a snowflake dripping with crimson abundance.  It seemed auspicious, a favorable sign from the universe, a reminder that sometimes all we have to do to be alive to the wonders of this life is to cut it open in a different way. Try it you never know what you might find!

3 responses

  1. Kitty de Brauwere

    Nice Lisa, thank you!

    Kitty de Brauwere kitty@flyingace.net 707-318-8804 cell 707-433-9321 home

    October 15, 2013 at 11:22 am

    • Anne Blanton

      Ah what beauty revealed itself to you!
      Lisa, it reminds me of the ritual we did in the classroom where we cut an apple at it’s equator and the inner star revealed itself. Then we sang a song about the star and danced “Wind up the apple tree,” a perfectly sweet spiral dance….
      What amazing memories triggered by your pomegranate piece.
      Thank you for your lovely words and luscious photograph.
      I can’t wait until we can do a collaboration!
      May Autumn touch you over and over with it’s magnificent energy.
      Anne

      October 15, 2013 at 12:03 pm

  2. Anne R. Blanton

    Mimi, thought you might enjoy Lisa’s posting! anne

    October 15, 2013 at 12:04 pm

Leave a Reply

