An Artist's Quest

Supported: an uplifting story

"Supported Green" featured in the Oct/Nov issue of Quilting Arts

“Supported Green” featured in the Oct/Nov issue of Quilting Arts

I am excited to share my latest article in Quilting Arts Magazine.  This is a great issue about artist giving back.  I submitted the art quilt of the bra and the words supported back in the spring.  Earlier in the year I had donated a wooden art piece using this image to a Cloth Paper Scissors auction designed to raise money for breast cancer research.  As it happens the editor of Quilting Arts magazine bought that piece.  She told me later that she had intended to give it to a friend with breast cancer but then soon after found out she herself had breast cancer.  She found this image to be a powerful reminder that she was not alone in her struggle.  I was gratified hear this story and humbled to know that I could help comfort through my art in some small way.  I love the bra image and decided to play around with it and the “supported” message in fabric.  This exploration lead to the magazine article I am sharing with you today.  The editor (cancer free now!), of QA had the idea of offering a the bra image as a stencil to the public as a fund raiser for breast cancer research.  I collaborated with Stencil Girl, a fabulous art stencil company, to make the mass-produced stencil of the bra image. The stencil is available for puchase, all the proceeds go to breast cancer research.  I hope you will consider buying a stencil and find new ways to use it and support those in need in your world through art. Purchase Supported stencil here.

Supported Pink featured in the Oct/Nov issue of Quilting Arts

Supported Pink featured in the Oct/Nov issue of Quilting Arts

This project has shown me that casting artful seeds throughout your life can lead to an unexpected harvest.  Live and love artfully you never know where it might take you.  xxo Lisa

This issue of Quilting Arts Magazine is on newsstands today or you can pick up one up in actual or digital form hereIf you buy an issue via my link I get 10% of the purchase price!

This is the donated art piece that started this whole project going.

This is the donated art piece that started this whole project going.

5 responses

  1. Thank you for posting about your awesome stencil and how it inspired me, Lisa. The artwork now is on the wall of my studio and is a daily reminder of the support, friendship, and love I received during my cancer journey. Yes, artful seeds do spread a bountiful harvest! Vivika

    September 27, 2013 at 10:06 am

  2. Carol Jones

    Congratulations Lisa. I saw the article in this month’s Quilting Arts and being a breast cancer survivor myself, I salute your contribution to the cause.

    Carol

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    September 27, 2013 at 11:21 am

  3. molmsteado

    I LOVE the supported image! Great story. I’m flying to CA from the Eastern shore of Maryland thinking about you and your family a lot as we took around. Did not make it to Chesterton this trip. Xoxixo

    September 27, 2013 at 11:22 am

  4. Val

    This was a great issue all around and I am so glad you were part of it. I have recently been doing cyanotype on fabric so was also excited to see it covered as well.

    September 27, 2013 at 12:07 pm

  5. Sandy Barra

    Lisa, you make a bra look so good! Your work as always is just so appealing and beautiful! I love the colors and such a great cause! Congrats !

    September 28, 2013 at 5:47 pm

Leave a Reply

