An Artist's Quest

Hello Summer YUM!

Raspberries and Boysenberries picked fresh from my garden this sunny morning.

Raspberries and Boysenberries picked fresh from my garden this sunny morning.

Hello faithful followers welcome to summer.  I know I know it is not officially summer but from my point of view once school is out (I had my last teaching day Wednesday) and there are berries to pick fresh from the garden…. well then summer is here.  I apologize to all you folks in climates that still have a breezy grip on spring, but here in beautiful Sonoma County I think summer has declared herself bejeweled in sweet red raspberries and deep purple boysenberries! I picked this bowlful this morning and there were plenty to deck out my favorite oatmeal pancakes.  Feast on this!

Oatmeal pancake with fresh berries, HEAVEN!

Oatmeal pancake with fresh berries, HEAVEN!

Here is the recipe for these fantastic oatmeal pancakes from Deborah Madison’s “Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone” it’s a hearty family favorite

1 ½ cup rolled oats

2 cups buttermilk

2 eggs

1 t vanilla

2 T brown sugar or maple syrup

¼ cup canola oil

½ t salt

½  cup flour

¼ t grated nutmeg

½ t baking soda

Stir the oats and buttermilk together and let stand for 20 min. Beat the eggs with vanilla, sugar, and oil then stir in soaked oats. Combine the dry ingredients and add them to the oat mixture as well. For each pancake, drop ¼ cup batter onto a heated griddle or skillet and cook over medium-low heat until the tips are covered with holes. Turn the cakes over and cook the second side.  Because of the moisture in this batter, the cakes need to cook slowly, but turn them only once. Add berries and yogurt and enjoy the taste of a summer morning. I hope summer comes to your breakfast soon!

Check out my website to see classes as well as art and cards for sale http://lisathorpe.com/

2 responses

  1. yum yum yum yum yum…I love those berries! Looking forwarad to seeing you at the pool dedication!

    May 24, 2013 at 1:46 pm

  2. Your style is very unique compared to other people I’ve read stuff from. Thank you for posting when you’ve got
    the opportunity, Guess I will just book mark this site.

    August 1, 2013 at 6:41 am

Leave a Reply

