An Artist's Quest

Seduction: ready to get a little dirty

This Ode to Asparagus is an homage to my first ever harvest of these slim shapely beauties!

This Ode to Asparagus is an homage to my first ever harvest of these slim shapely beauties!

Friday’s are typically my one “free day” no teaching, no class I’m taking, I try not to schedule meetings, I like to be in my studio (not withstanding the computer time doing the blog) anyhow it’s a relief to not be scheduled.  I tend to be very productive on Fridays it’s a day to explore and let my ideas wander where they will. So today my thoughts are wandering to my garden, and that’s the beauty of a “free day” I CAN wander. Yesterday I taught watercolor painting to second graders until 2:30 then did a collage workshop with a women’s group that is on retreat at the Ranch from 3:30-5:30, tomorrow I corralling group of 17 mixed age kids for the morning for a Ranch group, then volunteering in the afternoon for a preschool event where I am on the board…Sunday I lead an all day encaustic collage workshop – so you see this really is my one “free day”.  That long litany is to say today I am going to follow my bliss.  The warm, lengthening days and the racks of vegetable starts outside of every store from the local grocery to the hardware store is compelling me to get a little dirty today.  I have harvested my worm castings from my worm bin, I have made a vague plan for plant starts to buy, but I am easily swayed by the rakes of plants at Harmony Farms.  Today, this one free day, I am ready to be seduced, and more than willing to get down and dirty…garden here I come!

This triptych is one I did of my first ever asparagus.  I planted these last fall.  Everyone warned me that I wouldn’t get anything to eat for a couple of years but these little babies were full of surprise!  The warm days are leading them to bolt but my they were tasty (if tiny) and I look forward to next years bounty!

3 responses

  1. Julie

    Free days, unscheduled, are so very very important. Important to soul, body and mind. I don’t think we get enough and it makes us sick.

    April 19, 2013 at 12:45 pm

  2. Gale Davis

    I have been growing asparagus for several years. I love how they come straight up out of the ground just like they look on your plate. You know you need to let the skinny ones grow their ferny foliage. The foliage builds up the energy for next years harvest. Each year you will get bigger asparagus and can harvest them for a longer period of time. When they start coming up skinny you need to let them leaf out.

    April 19, 2013 at 3:22 pm

    • Thanks for the tip I am an asparagus growing virgin so I wasn’t sure what to do> Lisa

      April 19, 2013 at 4:14 pm

Leave a Reply

