An Artist's Quest

A Bird in the Hand

my drawing (left corner) scanned and printed on Grafix transparency & other transparencies to use in piece

my drawing (left corner) scanned and printed on Grafix transparency & other transparencies to use in piece

piece in progress, shows printed materials in which background was stenciled with stencils I made using the Grafix matte Dura-Lar film.

piece in progress, shows printed materials in which background was stenciled with stencils I made using the Grafix matte Dura-Lar film.

detail of Piece for Cloth Paper Scissors Grafix challenge, this is a teaser hopefully the full image will be published in the magazine, I'll keep you posted.

detail of Piece for Cloth Paper Scissors Grafix challenge, this is a teaser hopefully the full image will be published in the magazine, I’ll keep you posted.

The old proverb “a bird in the hand is worth two in the bush” took on new meaning for me this week.  Typically the idiom is described as meaning its better to have something that is certain than take a risk to get more and lose everything. I’ve always thought of this phrase as having a bit of the coward in it, a fear of taking the leap into the unknown but this week I turned this little nugget upside down to find a deeper wisdom. You remember, dear reader, from last week’s post that I was kvetching about a challenge I’m doing for Cloth Paper Scissors magazine.  I was given packet of Grafix materials and asked to feature them in a piece of art.  For several days I was struggling “what to do, what to do?” pulling my hair out. So last Friday I decided to leave the slate blank and let it filter in. On Sunday I reread the email from Barbara Delany (assistant editor at CPS) in it she says “We are asking you to create artwork in your signature style, using the Grafix product”.  Somehow this spoke to me in a different way.  Use your signature style she said, be you, right then the phase a “bird in the hand” popped in my head.  It came to me that there is no cowardice in digging down and doing what you know, there is wisdom in looking inward, taking stock and making something new out of what you have. This little fissure in my creative clog was all I needed to have productive, invigorating, satisfying studio day, a day unlike any I’ve had for months. And so I beseech you to turn inward when you find yourself flailing, grab hold of your greatest gifts, the birds flitting by are so bright and beguiling we forget we’ve been building a little nest in our hearts all along, each little stick of life experience tucked in to hold a rare and beautiful bird.

I got so inspired I made two very distinct pieces with the Grafix materials I’ll show the other one next week.

7 responses

  1. Valerie Komkov Hill

    Wonderful! I can’t wait to hear more about this product and see your other work.

    February 1, 2013 at 10:33 am

    • Thanks Val, it was a fun exhilarating process, hope your choreography challenge is shaping up too.

      February 1, 2013 at 10:50 am

  2. Carol Jones

    Hi Lisa – this piece is just beautiful…thx for sharing on your blog. (Another idea for a workshop you could teach?)

    Carol

    Sent from my iPad

    February 1, 2013 at 10:45 am

    • There’s a thought… I think you’ll like next weeks idea too!

      February 1, 2013 at 10:51 am

  3. Pamela

    Perfect for a meditation room.

    February 1, 2013 at 11:42 am

  4. Jeanette Bernard

        Hi Lisa, You have a nice gift in your artwork…I sent this post to Tim, who lives in Santa Rosa.  I suggested he contact you for a visit..he may not, but I think you two might enjoy a visit and a walk on your grounds, if it worked out….I see you are a very busy young woman.  I’m glad your mom shared your sight with me.  These art products you have the priviledge of trying out sound like fun.   Lovingly, Jeanette Bernard       .

    February 2, 2013 at 10:11 am

  5. Jane

    This is beautiful Lisa. I can see and feel the fun you had creating it. Celebrating ourselves and who we are is something we should all do more of. I’m still struggling to learn this thanks to my English ‘Victorian’ upbringing. My visits to the Bishops Ranch certainly help me, and I’m sure many others, learn how to celebrate themselves and who they are. The beauty and freedom of that place are a true gift.
    I eagerly await publication and viewing the entire project.

    February 3, 2013 at 5:20 am

Leave a Reply

