An Artist's Quest

Still Life of a Sicko

Still Life with Kleenex box and thermometer

Still Life with Kleenex box and thermometer

Hello blog followers.  It has been weeks since I touched base.  First I was one winter break then I got the scourge!  This is my first day in eight without a fever, and I must say my brain and body are not quite up to speed.  I will keep it brief, since my mind keeps going blank, run don’t walk and get your flu shot if you haven’t gotten it already.  This is a slow burning fever flu that leaves you with no will, no humor, no wonder just a wistful, listful longing for one more blanket and a box of Kleenex to cover the deep, thick cough .  So that’s it, that’s all I can muster on day one of no fever.  Be well and carry your hand sanitizer!

9 responses

  1. Valerie Komkov Hill

    Hope you’re feeling better soon. My sister has the flu as well, but apparently not the flu that the shot covers. Just can’t win.

    January 18, 2013 at 2:58 pm

  2. Delores Olson

    Sorry you are ill Lisa. Hope you will soon be as good as new. Delores Olson

    January 18, 2013 at 3:01 pm

  3. molmsteado

    Oh sweet Lisa….I’m so sorry that you have been so miserable! Since Ivan was sick all holiday I hope that Jack is washing his hands often! XOXOXO

    January 18, 2013 at 3:33 pm

  4. Mary Anne

    You have my sincere sympathy as I spent December with a classic case of influenza!. And, I had gotten a flu shot in September. The high fever with consequent sweats were the worst. Take good care as the energy recovery period can be a long one!

    January 19, 2013 at 6:39 am

  5. Sandy Barra

    Sorry to hear about the flu! I am also recovering from same although my symptoms didn’t last as long. Horrible aches with that fever! Hope you are even better today!

    January 19, 2013 at 7:53 am

  6. Bonnie Orr

    Still, your Still Life was evidence that the artist in you is STILL alive and well! Loved the balance, the complimentary colors, the symbolism “embodied.” Bonnie

    January 19, 2013 at 1:54 pm

    • Thanks to all of you who thought good thoughts for my recovery. It’s awful to be sick but it’s a good reminder to embrace every healthy day with creativity and gratitude!

      January 19, 2013 at 3:14 pm

  7. Hope you feel better soon, Lisa!

    January 25, 2013 at 7:54 am

    • I am fully back in the swing of things now…. although that lost week is still rattling around in my to-do list.

      January 25, 2013 at 8:48 am

Leave a Reply

