An Artist's Quest

Go Figure

Another random summer post:  While I was procrastinating doing my June painting (in progress, I know, I know it’s July you say but I started it in June) I got a call for entries for a local show called “Go Figure”.  It got my wheels turning about how I would do a figurative piece in my current spot on my artistic trajectory.  In the past I did a lot of figurative pieces, large canvases and small dioramas, so I wanted to look at the figure through my NOW lens.  As you know if you’ve been reading my posts for a while I have been playing around with stencils on both fabric and wood (see Vintage Moderns and You are My Cup Of Tea).  I decided to try a large stencil piece with the figure as my jumping point, I love what I came up with and I’m intrigued by the idea of trying this same image out in fabric.  I won’t tell you what I think the meaning of this piece is I’ll let you ponder that for yourselves.

This piece and the “Supported” piece below will be submitted to the juried show next week and if excepted will be on display at the Healdsburg Art Center for the rest of July and the whole of August.

5 responses

  1. Pat

    Love these. Hope theyre accepted. Cool.

    July 6, 2012 at 9:10 pm

  2. Mary Anne

    Love these! Good luck in the competition…

    July 7, 2012 at 7:13 am

  3. Calen

    Lisa! I love them. So simple and chic.

    July 7, 2012 at 9:14 am

  4. Sandy Barra

    As one of your former figure models, I think they are awesome! No regrets is a great mantra that I always try to remind myself of. Good luck!

    July 8, 2012 at 10:17 am

  5. Mary Thorpe

    Both pieces are great!!! The patterned backgrounds remind me a bit of Zelpha Hutton’s work. Mom

    July 8, 2012 at 1:30 pm

Leave a Reply

