An Artist's Quest

Prepping, “Gods Work”?…well maybe…

I know, I know, a lofty thought, but I was grousing about my whole week being about prepping and teaching art with no space for making art and the chaplain here at The Bishop’s Ranch, Pat Moore, said its  “God’s work” so I’m going with it.  She said that preparing well to teach a class is a gift, it shows I value my students and their time.  To make clear instructions and ready materials opens up the participants, be they children or adults, to explore the medium at hand, it gives them a ease and comfort to dive in and find their own voice.  Put into that lovely gilded frame I’m not as frustrated and overwhelmed by my week.  And to be perfectly honest, after 20 plus years teaching, I prep for these classes with great rigor and detail because it makes me feel more comfortable as I teach, it makes me a better instructor.  So I suppose there’s art involved after all just not the kind you can hang up on the wall.  I taught (or readied to teach) everyone from Kindergarten to adults in 8 different class.  I’m most excited about a new adventure in teaching that I’m getting ready for at the end of the month.  I’ll be teaching 3 classes at the CREATE Conference in Orange County.  It is going to be a amazing hub of creative energy.  Here are two links, the first to the CREATE conference workshop list, second to a blog hop that lists instructors, like me, and their blogs, if you like what I’m up to you should check them out too! Spread the word to all your friends who are creative explorers in Southern California, maybe they can join in the fun.

Here are all the things I prepped for or taught this week! Click on images below for larger view.

3 responses

  1. Nicole Ross

    I have witnessed you teach my children and myself and however you prepare for these lessons is always successful and amazing with a ton of flexibility involved in the process! I love how you care about and execute the work that you teach those around you! You will be BRILLIANT at the workshops, and I will definitely spread the word!

    May 11, 2012 at 7:57 am

    • Thanks Nicole, it’s always a pleasure to be with you and yours. Please do spread the word I forgot you had a stop over in Southern California in your wandering before you landed here in paradise. Thanks for your support I look forward to our paths crossing again. L

      May 11, 2012 at 8:35 am

  2. Mary Anne

    Wishing you a wonderful time teaching in Orange County – I would love to be there but the trip is abit of a stretch from NC! Sharing your creative gifts hrough teaching is a joy.

    May 14, 2012 at 6:29 am

Leave a Reply

