An Artist's Quest

Seeking: The Thrill of the Hunt!

California Quail drawn on my ipad

This week the weather was back to a glorious bright winter days and after the abundance of rain last week, here at The Bishop’s Ranch, my mind turned to treasure hunting, golden wondrous treasure! Golden chanterelle treasure that is. I gathered up my gear, a knife, a stiff bristle brush and a paper bag, I threw in my bird guide and a pair of binoculars for good measure. I was ready for treasure of both of the leafy loamy, fungus kind, and feathery flighty kind. I have written about the satisfactions of mushroom hunting and amateur birding before but it continues to thrill me.  What is so wondrous is to discover a bounty freely given by the earth to anyone willing to seek and ready to find.  The pursuit of mushrooms is similar to the inclination to bird watch.  With birds, as with mushrooms, the quarry is there, it’s there whether we are looking or not, it’s there whether we are attending to its beauty and bounty, it’s there whether we are paying attention or not.  Bounty and beauty are freely given, the little joys of life flit about and abound in the loamy leafy places all around,  but we have to be prepared for the harvest, ready for the sightings. We need our spiritual binoculars to search the skies and our stiff bristle brushes at the ready to dig through the leaf litter and find life’s little gems right under our noses.  I won’t tell you if I found any chanterelles or what kind of birds I spied… it doesn’t matter anyway, it’s the seeking that matters!

I did this Quail “painting” on my ipad!  I’m having a lot of fun with this new medium.  I found a great way to present these pieces, there is a new process of printing on metal that gives the art a hard ultra sturdy surface and a lovely glow.  My web master husband promises to have the Quail and other birds up on my wesite this weekend along with last weeks January painting …. until then other ipad painting are showing there so go to my website to check it out!  http://lisathorpe.com

6 responses

  1. Dodd Thorpe

    Fantastic painting !!! Gpa

    February 3, 2012 at 1:07 pm

    • Thanks, I am having fun with the ipad still and learning new things as I go along.

      February 3, 2012 at 1:14 pm

  2. Laura Thorpe

    Love the iPad art this week! Also, I’m so enjoying you weaving a tale. I am only echoing others before me here, but you’re a writer, madam! Your thought provoking explorations of the world you/we inhabit — both our physical environments and our psychic landscapes — are mighty fine. Keep it up. I look forward to getting a chance to peek into your brain and sparking all kinds of neurons in my own…. Love it!

    February 4, 2012 at 5:53 am

    • That’s some fine wordsmithing you got going too, thanks for the props! Keep on Keeping on, as I like to say.

      February 4, 2012 at 9:54 am

  3. Mary Anne

    Beautiful mushrooms where I live but none safe to eat! A multitude of Atlantic coast birds with many of them feeding in my yard as I watch them in the mornings with a cup of coffee. There are feelings of peace and harmony just sitting quietly watching and listening.

    Impressed with your iPad painting. Really nice!

    February 7, 2012 at 6:55 am

    • You paint a pretty word picture, watching and listening…. mushrooms are amazing to admire, the colors, the shapes, I myself only know one kind and that is the only kind I pick to eat…. I keep practicing at the ipad learning new tricks and techniques, as with any medium, practice-practice-practice.

      February 7, 2012 at 9:25 am

Leave a Reply

