An Artist's Quest

November: from extrovert to introvert on only 30 days

I offer my November painting a few days into December due to the fall of Fridays and blog posting.  But in contemplating the month clear through the end, November has revealed something to me in it’s vibrant colors, crisp mornings, and whisking, whipping winds.  The lively colors of the vineyard accentuate the folds of the landscape; it is like a last shake of the sheets on the line before they are dropped in the laundry bin, cupboard bound.  Or like a beautiful Turkish rug right before it is rolled up and packed away.    Throughout the month the yellow, orange and red of the fields has slowly faded, dropping and drifting with each passing day and as if to say to December “these colors are not for you” the last night of November there was a wild scrubbing windstorm.  November stomped away from the party taking her flaming cloak with her leaving only the most tenacious leaves clinging to the near naked vines.  Perhaps the wind was sent to remind us to take a little turn inward, fold up your party dress and pause.  Before the extrovert fest ahead of us during the December holidays, we should pause and take a little moment to breath.  My son, who early on recognized his need for quiet internal time to recharge, dubbed this time “Turtle Time”. I encourage you to take a little Turtle Time, fold up on the couch with a cup of tea, and take a deep breath, embrace the quiet while you can.

Saturday December 3rd I am having an Art Show and gift sale, if you are in the area please join me follow this link for more info: SHOW.  To see this November painting and other works from the blog and more follow this link: lisathorpe.com.

8 responses

  1. Val

    I think our latest blogs are on the same wavelength…:-)

    December 2, 2011 at 2:46 pm

    • Your blog looks great Val, I guess Autumn is in the air (not for long…) everyone out there is you haven’t looked at Val’s blog look at the sites I like on the sidebar and click through to Valya!

      December 4, 2011 at 10:32 am

  2. Julia

    I love your November painting. Have you given any thought to publishing a calendar? I would love it and I think it would be a most wonderful gift to give to loved ones.

    December 2, 2011 at 6:55 pm

    • You are on to me Julia I have a notion of putting out a calendar next year and also pondering a book for some time in the future something like “A Year at The Ranch” or something like that which would include paintings and writings… I’ll keep you posted. Lisa

      December 4, 2011 at 10:35 am

  3. Mary Anne

    One of the most valuable life lessons for me was the realization that I am an “extroverted introvert.” I am able successfully to participate in daily social life but as it is ennervating, I must have lots of quiet time to maintain balance and harmony in my life. This holiday time is a wonderful opportunity to look inward and reflect on my beliefs and values.

    I echo Julia’s suggestion about you publishing a calendar. Wonderful idea!!

    I wish you and your readers a Meaningful and Merry Christmas! May 2012 be filled with abundant blessings for all.

    December 3, 2011 at 5:02 am

    • Thanks Mary Anne> I love that “extroverted introvert” when I tell people I’m an introvert they burst out laughing because I am quite the talker but the label is about how we refuel and I MUST have quiet time to refuel. We each have our own way in the world and the trick is figuring it out and making space for it. Thank your for your blessings and wishes, I return the same to you> Lisa

      December 4, 2011 at 10:38 am

  4. Nice, Lisa. Speaking of Turtle Time, I saw a beautiful Turkish tortoise today in the cow pasture!

    December 3, 2011 at 12:17 pm

    • A Turkish Tortoise! Did you have a camera? I’ll have to look that up, I hope you are having a lovely adventure. It is wonderful that you are half way around the world but can still check in with us out here in our regular life adventures. Bon Courage! Be Well, I love hearing from you! Lisa

      December 4, 2011 at 10:40 am

Leave a Reply

