An Artist's Quest

When Exuberance turns to Chaos

When does exuberance turn to chaos?  I am not speaking of the recent events in the Middle East, but let’s take a moment to think of the people struggling there (pause) and I’m not thinking of the recent tornadoes in the South, but let’s take another moment to think of the people dealing with natures chaos (pause), I am most definitely not speaking of the royal wedding and it’s thousands of merry makers (no pause necessary enough time was spent on that) but what I am speaking of is my garden.  I know what you’re thinking, what trivia what twaddle… and it’s true in light of what’s happening in the world, but I’ll try to make a metaphor of it any way.  Here goes, back in January and February when the bulbs were all bursting forth with joy and promise, I was so relieved at their coming so comforted by their emergence and assurance that winter would not stay and spring would indeed come, I can scarcely believe the exasperation I now feel towards them.  These self same perky harbingers are now drooping and draping all over the place serving only to block the way of summer beauties and I might add lend safe haven to invading troops of snails and slugs.  I guess that is the fickle nature of nature itself, always reaching towards the light, stretching, growing, dying, and stretching again. An endless cycle tied to the planet in her course around the sun.  And what, you might be asking at this moment, does any of this have to do with art or this blog?  Well, I think it is part of the ongoing discussion about wabi-sabi (on the web-page there is a link there to a couple of definitions of wabi-sabi on the right sidebar).  The beauty of things imperfect, impermanent, and incomplete defines wabi-sabi and so my drooping, dying bulb foliage is lounging in the wabi-sabi realm.  How do I respect that aesthetic and the need of natural things to run their natural course and wrest chaos for the border of my flowerbeds?  Ah, there is the crux of the problem; I’ll share with you how I solve it on Friday.  Until then, as always I encourage you to share your thoughts, how do you tip toe on the balance beam between order and chaos?

6 responses

  1. pamela

    I agree. I have been brading leaves for over a week. But I love the flowers and are willing to give back to them.

    May 2, 2011 at 8:52 am

    • I guess I’m not the only one… there is something both compulsive and meditative about this practice… I’ll ponder that as I braid more this week. Lisa

      May 2, 2011 at 10:35 am

  2. Valerie Komkov Hill

    Once you bow to the power of nature, AND to the concept of wabi-sabi, your life will be much less stressful. Although I’m still doing battle with those aggressive aster daisies. They are like the Huns of the flora world, they keep invading my other plants’ territories year after year.

    May 2, 2011 at 10:25 am

    • Striking the balance between fighting what want to be there and what I want to be there….the middle way> Lisa

      May 2, 2011 at 10:34 am

  3. Kitty

    Gently and with passion, it’s almost like tending to the needs of a new born while easing through the aging of the elder. This time of nature is so delicate, I reach over an Iris to pull a weed, carefully not to knock off the Iris bud and don’t step on the dahlia springing up… Watch out for the poison oak. I find this time in the garden to be very Intimate. Enjoy!

    May 2, 2011 at 7:25 pm

    • beautifully put, so much abundance and potential, so much work so much pleasure. Lisa

      May 3, 2011 at 8:48 am

Leave a Reply

