An Artist's Quest

Love is a road, not a destination

Opening clip of music video
Click Here to Watch the Video

First click the link to the short 2 minute video I  made with my husband Jack and son Ivan then come back and read what I’ve got to say.

This week I did something completely different as my art response; in collaboration with my husband and with our son adding to the mix as well, we created, of all things, a Music Video! This project is truly a symbol of what I think marriage can mean.  The synergy of creating something that neither of us could have accomplished on our own.  When I had the idea I was a little sheepish about asking my husband to help. This is my blog and I’m supposed to do the work, after all my husband does have a full time job to manage.  But after explaining my idea he didn’t balk a bit, he literally rubbed his hands together in anticipation of the challenge and the fun of such an idea.  Suddenly a project that seemed quit beyond my capabilities, became a skip, a jump, a romp into something new and fun.  This is one of the wonderful things my husband, Jack, brings to the marriage, a solid sense (based on what I sometimes wonder) that anything is possible.  He is an outrageous, unapologetic optimist; and while some might call me a pessimist, I prefer to refer to myself as a hands on hips, head on shoulders realist.  And so it’s good we are together because sometimes it’s my job to hold on to the string of his helium balloon to keep him from floating away into the great blue beyond, and sometimes it’s his job to give me a kick in the booty and unstick my solid boots from the muck and mud of earthly gravity.

I wrote the song awhile back in response to the Billy Collins poem I included on Monday.  I didn’t do much with it but scrawl it in a notebook and tuck it back in a melody section of my brain.  So on Saturday last, while celebrating our anniversary, we started filming for this little project.  Monday night my son transcribed the tune in my head into notes on paper (something I can’t even begin to imagine how to do).  On Tuesday night my husband set up a mic by the computer and we started recording our parts.  He mixed and mingled the sounds of my vocals, my son’s trombone and melodica lines along with his soft snare drum beat to create the music. We sat side-by-side as he mashed the music with the video and by Tuesday night we had this tribute to the journey we call marriage: Love is a road.

Keep a copy of Billy Collins poem, Litany, in your sock drawer to pull out when either you or your partner begin to take yourselves too seriously, and don’t forget to enjoy the ride.  Love is a road, not a destination.

Monday’s post got a lot of conversation going and I encourage you to click through to the website and tap April 11th on the calendar to the right to read some of the insightful comments.

I’m going to take next week off, so I’ll check in after Easter.

3 responses

  1. Pamela

    It is what I nened to be reminded of. Not just love, but life is a road to travel.

    April 16, 2011 at 1:00 am

  2. Julie

    Thank you Lisa,

    It says it all. It is very meditative, to watch over and over…. Do we ever want to “arrive”?

    Is it ever finished?

    hmmmm

    April 16, 2011 at 10:37 am

  3. Brendan Swift

    What a pleasure to watch this video and sense the presence of you three. I was thinking a lot of the same things Julie was.

    I especially liked the line “you’re the card in the spokes.”

    Thanks, Lisa!
    Brendan

    April 17, 2011 at 10:48 pm

Leave a Reply

