An Artist's Quest

The Birds and Bees and Crabapple Trees

The week has buzzed by (sorry for the pun), and though I have been busy as you know what, I have very little honey in the hive to show for it.  This week I have felt more like a hamster on a wheel than a buzzing bee of industry.  At this very moment the sky has opened up weary of it’s load and is dumping with a will on my house (perhaps yours too?).  With the moodiness of spring so goes my mood, I am the bear who is hungry and annoyed with hibernation, keen to forage for fresh berries with the sun on my back.  Last weekend I bought some six-packs of snow peas, lettuce, and herbs, which sit still unplanted on my patio.  Today does not seem like a day for planting, and the paper says more rain for the weekend.  But what of the bees, where do they go in the rain?  The sparrows and the Towhees and the Juncos don’t seem to mind the rain so much, they are there scratching out a living rain or shine, they don’t have a cozy hive to rest in like the bees and I.

I did paint this painting during week (inside my studio mind you) and I guess it fulfills my Monday mandate to make something sweet this week to share.  And so I offer it to you, a little reminder in the midst of spring showers, while we reach for another layer and turn the kettle on for another cup of tea, that spring is here.  We can wait another day… or two, watching eagerly from our hibernation hideaways, to scratch the itch of spring.

4 responses

  1. doug wade

    Thanks Lisa. Awesome blog. Love the painting.
    doug

    March 18, 2011 at 6:26 pm

  2. Pamela

    Kyle and I have moved. First night in the new house seemed to go well. As with all we need to rebuild. Make a new nest as they say. The honey bees will follow, I’am confident of this. The painting is beautiful.

    March 19, 2011 at 6:19 am

    • Good luck in your new home. Loss and gain always hand in hand, in the tug and tussle of life. Blessing on your house.

      March 21, 2011 at 9:24 am

Leave a Reply

