An Artist's Quest

Today Rabbit just might win the race

Those born in the year of the Rabbit in the Chinese zodiac are said to be: articulate, talented, and ambitious.  They exhibit the best of taste and are good mannered, they give sound council and are extremely lucky with money and business (thus the lucky rabbit foot I guess, not so lucky for the rabbit).  Despite their speed and agility, Rabbits don’t rush into things; they seek peace and tranquility and have distaste for conflict. If you were born in the year of the rabbit (1927, 1939, 1951, 1963, 1975 1987, 1999 and of course 2011) you’ve got some great attributes.  I myself was born in the year of the Tiger and both Tiger and I have a bit of a bite…but that is for another post.   What I really got thinking about this week is our desire for signs and symbols. The Greek zodiac pops up in the 1st millennium BC, I couldn’t find out when the Chinese zodiac was derived but suffice to say it was a long, long time ago.  Today we can still read our horoscope in morning paper, people still read  Tarot cards and toss runes to get some clue to their life’s meaning or direction. More modern means to the same end are psychoanalysis or tools such as Myers Briggs personality tests and the in depth Enneagram system to name a few.  My point is that there is a human thread from ancient times till now, an inner drive, longing, hope, to “know thyself”.  The phrase itself is as old as time and comes from the ancient Greek, perhaps from Socrates himself.   We want some way to explain ourselves, maybe we even want excuses for how we behave, choices we make.  I know for myself that my Lion month and Tiger year give me undeserved cover for my roar and bite, as Nietzsche said “The most common sort of lie is the one uttered to one’s self”.  But self-reflection is vital to gaining understanding about our true self.  Without reflection we cannot grow and learn and change.  And without growth what is the point of this walk on earth we call a life?  As Carl Jung said “Your vision will become clear only when you can look into your own heart.  Who looks outside, dreams; who looks inside, awakes.”  So once again I rub the sleep from my eyes and stretch to the day and hope to awaken a bit more of myself, my why, before I fall into and inevitable sleep to dream and wander from my truth. What a blessing to have another day, another morning.   AWAKE!

Leave a Reply

