An Artist's Quest

Help a girl, change the world

I am traveling this week to New York City.  I’m going to witness my niece Francesca’s Bat Mitzvah on Saturday and to help during the week ahead with all the details such an event requires.  This will only be my 3rd Bar Mitzvah, the first two I found to be very moving and this one will be more so for it’s celebration of my gentle, bright, lovely niece.  It is an amazing thing to ask of a 13 year old, and shows that young teens can accomplish much when given the opportunity and responsibility.  Along with years of Hebrew study and intensive study this year, Francesca has been required to visit 10 different synagogues of different denominations and styles, she has to design and carry through on a service project in her community and she has to perform the traditional chanting from the Torah along with delivering a reflection speech to the congregates. That’s a big responsibility but one she has been able to carry.

You may be wondering what Francesca’s Bat Mitzvah has to do with my blog.  Well I wanted to take this special family event and open the lens to encompass the global family of women.  Last month, with my book group, we read a very important book by Nicholas D. Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn, Half the Sky – Turning Oppression into Opportunity for Women Worldwide. The book illustrates through individual stories of oppression and triumph over oppression the power of women in the world.  What does this have to do with Francesca’s Bat Mitzvah you say?  Well I want to continue the theme of last week’s blog on Starlings.  The idea that if we love our neighbor, truly love our neighbor, then a ripple effect can happen.  In that same vein hold up one girl, support one woman and the world can change.  I’ll refer more to the book Half the sky in my Friday post, in the mean time I’ll be working on a piece of art to encompass the idea of the everywoman holding up half the sky, half the world.  I hope I have piqued your interest to follow the link http://www.halftheskymovement.org/stories and find out how helping one girl can start to change the world.

One response

  1. Pamela

    I have read the book. To see it’s title again made me smile and tear at the same time. It is a must read for all.

    January 18, 2011 at 8:28 am

Leave a Reply

