An Artist's Quest

Exploring Bounty

Welcome to the new decade, new year, new month, new week, new day, new moment.  As is often the case I am reflecting on lessons learned in the past year, reflecting on what was right and what was wrong in my world, what to change and what to hold fast.  One thing I am determined to continue is this blog I have started.  I have surprised myself with where it has taken me these past fifteen weeks and am both excited and anxious about where it will take me in the coming year.  I am comforted by all of you out there in the either as my thoughts and images waft out magically into the worldwide web, you give rest to their wandering and purpose to the prose.  I want to give thanks to all of you, the comments have been wonderful and the unspoken reflections have somehow made there way back to me as well, giving me courage to continue.

With that in mind I want to reflect this week on Bounty.  I spent a week of my respite with my extended family in the Sierra Foothills, playing, resting, working and wandering at my parents’ home.  There nestled among the ancient oaks my folks have planted over 20 fruit trees and carved out vast rambling garden plots.  The peach, apricot, cherry, plum, and walnut trees have all lost both fruit and leaf and wait now patiently through the cold winter to flower and fruit.  Only one of the apple trees still clings to her fruit (much like the persimmon tree of my December post).  The apples on this tree are very rewarding, large, crisp yellow-green beauties with a surprising sweet juiciness for such a late harvest. My mother is amazingly diligent about using the bounty from her orchard; she has a large chest freezer that is filled with fruit and a pantry filled with jelly and jam.  What she can’t put up she offers to the neighbors and shares with the local food bank.

This is the metaphor of bounty I want to reflect on this week and throughout the year.  I’ll share more on Friday, feel free, as always, to add to the conversation, your comments add mineral to the mulch.

2 responses

  1. Lise

    I received a new year’s card with this on it just minutes after reading your blog post. Somehow this idea connected for me in terms of your thoughts on bounty.

    “Above all, artists must not be only in art galleries or museums—they must be present in all possible activities. The artist must be the sponsor of thought in whatever endeavor people take on, at every level.”

    –Michelangelo Pistoletto from Art’s Responsibility—Artist as Sponsor of Thought

    January 3, 2011 at 10:30 am

  2. doug wade

    Lisa,
    I always look forward to your blog. Your parent’s orchard is beautiful. Thank you for sharing.
    doug

    January 3, 2011 at 12:55 pm

Leave a Reply

