An Artist's Quest

Taking a Break

Well I am taking a break for a few weeks, to recharge and play and visit so I won’t be posting until the new year but I wanted to share two things with you.  First, I wrote a few weeks back about going foraging for mushrooms which I did do.  Terri (a Ranch regular and mushroom hunter) was generous enough to take me out to one of her secret spots so I could see what I was looking for (it is hard to find something when you aren’t sure what IT is!) she started me off with an easy safe one, Golden Chaterelles.  Then we wandered around The Bishop’s Ranch and found some!  By the end of the morning we had gathered 2 pounds!  Terri shared a favorite pasta sauce recipe that involves bacon and cream (how can you go wrong?)  that the whole family loved.  It was great fun to forage in the woods for dinner and now I have MY own semi secret spot!  Here is a photo of our morning foraging find.

Second, I  leave you with a favorite poem by Jane Kenyon, ” Let Evening Come” from a collection of poems of the same name.  This poem seemed appropriate as we stand on the cusp of the  Winter Solstice.  Have a wonderful 2 weeks, I will check in with you in the New Year.

Let Evening Come

Let the light of late afternoon

shine through chinks in the barn, moving

up the bales as the sun moves down.

 

Let the cricket take up chafing

as a woman takes up her needles

and her yarn.  Let evening come.

 

Let dew collect on the hoe abandoned

in long grass. Let the stars appear

and the moon disclose her silver horn.

 

Let the fox go back to its sandy den.

Let the wind die down. Let the shed

go black inside. Let evening come.

 

To the bottle in the ditch, to the scoop

in the oats, to air in the lung

let evening come.

 

Let it come, as it will, and don’t

be afraid.  God does not leave us

comfortless, so let evening come.

Jane Kenyon

Leave a Reply

