An Artist's Quest

The life cycle of an apple tree

Yesterday I attended an apple tasting held here, were I live, at The Bishop’s Ranch.  The tables were filled with a vast array of apple varieties to taste, from “Arkansas Black” to “Winesap”. The tasting was set amidst Gina’s Orchard, surrounded by apple trees planted in the 1870s.  The old Gravensteins though twisted and ancient, still strive towards their purpose… to bear fruit. Each year they go through the natural order of things: they bloom, they burst from bloom to tender leaf, they bear fruit, they give fruit to whomever and whatever finds sustenance in it, they drop their leaves and lay themselves bare to wait out the winter, ready, waiting to bloom again.  Imagine these stalwart trees for 130 years fulfilling their destiny! What’s to be learned from a life cycle fulfilled, what does it mean to bear fruit? I’m not sure where this will take me, check back Friday.

4 responses

  1. Dodd Thorpe

    Lisa,I am fascinated by what you’re doing. So to that end, last Saturday, with Francesca and Laura I went to Congregation Rodeph Sholom on the Lower East Side for Shabbat morning service. The Temple House was built in 1930, what struck me was that over the Ark housing for the Torah scrolls was a series of brightly crafted Mandalas. As I looked around I realized that the mandala, in varies forms, constituted one of the building’s primary design elements. It was wonderful. But for you interest and your blog
    I’m sure I would never had noticed! Thanks,
    luv Gpa

    October 4, 2010 at 9:36 pm

  2. Calen Swift

    I’m really looking forward to seeing what you do with this! I have always loved the simple elegance of the design the seeds make in the apple. As a kid I read a couple of stories about that little star, mythologies around that shape and how it got there … now I don’t quite remember them, but they date to pioneer days, when people had few choices but to find their entertainment in the natural world. At the time I thought that star in the apple is like a special secret for those who are creative enough to cut the apple a different way.

    Calen

    October 5, 2010 at 11:09 pm

  3. met

    beautiful image, beautiful sentiment!!!

    M.

    October 9, 2010 at 5:12 am

Leave a Reply

