An Artist's Quest

Coming Out of My Closet

Still life in Healdsburg Hotel

Still life in Healdsburg Hotel sketched with the Artrage app on iPad

In my last post I talked about a pleasant evening drawing alone- but today I did something I have not done in a long time – I went out and painted in public- and not only that I did it with a friend! Most of my pursuit of art is a solitary hunt sitting in my wee closet of a studio lingering and laboring on whatever project or problem I have going that day. I want to say right up front that my turtle time, as we call it in my house, in my studio is sacred, a much needed respite for this performing introvert, but today my sketching and chatting away the afternoon was more than lovely. My friend Diane and I have been threatening to get together and make art for ages and never getting to it but today we both made it a priority. We met at a lovely local hotel lobby and sat down with two pots of tea, Diane got out her watercolors and sketchbook and I got out my Ipad. We painted and talked about our lives and art and deep things and shallow things all the while sketching. We both agree that the word “sketching” holds less pressure than painting or drawing – we were just “sketching” – the waiter and few passers by peeked at our progress- and this public process required that we share and so we did, no precious master work to keep covered until perfected- we were just “sketching”. And so three hours passed, worries rested, and the niggling nagging to-do list waited patiently in the car while we sat and appreciated the curve of the cup and the polish of the teapot, observed the overflowing flowers and the overstuffed chairs – I am grateful for this little reminder of the extraordinary gift of ordinary things, and plan to get out of my closet more often!

Tea time up close

Tea time up close sketched with the Brushes 3 app on iPad

4 responses

  1. Lisa – these are wonderful. Love receiving your iPad art communications.

    April 4, 2014 at 8:17 pm

  2. Mary

    Love the images and such a nice way to carve out some creative-social space.

    April 4, 2014 at 8:49 pm

  3. Lisa, you art is amazing.. I have a few I Pad questions I hope you can answer. I am planning on buying an Ipad, I have a PC computer, and a Power Point Presentation is on it. I will need to transfer it to the Ipad for quilt lectures, also will be buying a projector, If you have any input it would be appreciated, also I am looking at the Ipad Air, 32g, will get a hot spot on my phone when needed. Don’t watch movies, yet, but will hope to have some instructional videos or u tube on my I pad.. Do you think 32 G is enough, also want to find some of the “art/quilt/”programs for the I pad.. really appreciate seeing all that you do with your I pad. And thank you for sharing. vivianhelena@sti.net

    April 5, 2014 at 10:23 am

    • Vivian, I have an iPad 2, practically ancient, and can do all the things you mentioned so I can’t imagine the latest version is any different. You can email your powerpoint to yourself then play it from your iPad through and LCD projector. I bought a small used one on ebay last year and it works fine they are expensive so that can be a good route. For creating art that I use in all kinds of ways including quilts I have been using ArtRage and Brushes3. I am currently working on a video workshop for people to take and hope to have it done by early summer, I can put you on my mailing list to find out about classes both live and online if you would like…. good luck keep me posted on your progress.

      April 6, 2014 at 10:55 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 280 other followers